Pebl (formerly Velocity Global) EOR Review

Velocity Global under a new name: 185-plus countries, Baker McKenzie-vetted compliance guidance, a homepage promise to hire anywhere in as little as 24 hours, and a $399 headline that sits beside a "Get a quote" button. For South Africa specifically, it publishes very little. The site is hellopebl.com; pebl.com is someone else.

EOR fee from
$399/mo
Start date (global)
As little as 24 hrs
Finds candidates?
No
Named account manager?
No

Pros

  • "Hire anywhere in as little as 24 hours" on the homepage; offer to onboarding "in minutes"
  • Compliance guidance vetted by Baker McKenzie; NelsonHall leader five years running
  • Enterprise scope: M&A, contractor conversion, pensions, equity, immigration

Cons

  • $399 is an entry point beside "Get a quote"; no South African rate anywhere
  • SA entity undisclosed; SA page names none of UIF, SDL, COIDA or the CCMA
  • No recruiters of its own, no office or equipment, no account manager promised

Facts checked 8 September 20267 min read

Who Pebl suits

You already have your candidate. Pebl is a fit if South Africa is one market inside a larger programme. You get a mature platform, locally compliant offers in minutes, and a global claim of onboarding in as little as 24 hours. You do not get a South African rate, a named employing entity or a South African timeline, so the first sales call has to settle all three.

You need someone found. Pebl does not recruit. Global Talent Sourcing matches you with vetted staffing agencies at no cost unless you hire, but Pebl employs no recruiters, publishes no time-to-hire and does not confirm South African coverage.

You already use an EOR in another country. Pebl's strongest case: 185-plus countries, 65 owned entities, plus international pensions, a global equity programme, global immigration and support for mergers, acquisitions and contractor conversion. If you are absorbing a team or unwinding an operation, Pebl publishes that work as a service.

Look elsewhere if South Africa is your only market, you need a rate you can budget against before a sales process, you require confirmed owned-entity employment in South Africa, you want office space or equipment provided, you need candidates sourced rather than referred, or documented CCMA representation and named South African benefits are requirements.

At a glance

Published EOR fee$399 per employee per month, under a "no hidden fees" heading, beside a "Get a quote" button. No South African rate
Upfront costNot published. The pricing FAQ asks "Does Pebl charge setup or offboarding fees?" but the answer is collapsed. Deposit terms not published
Start date"Hire anywhere in as little as 24 hours" (homepage); "offer to onboarding in minutes" (EOR page). No South Africa-specific timeline
RecruitmentPartner referral via Global Talent Sourcing; no own recruiters, no time-to-hire, SA coverage not confirmed
Support model"Ask Pebl 24/7" AI assistant backed by in-house experts. No dedicated account manager stated
Local entityNot disclosed. Pebl publishes 65 owned entities with no country list. No SA company, office or staff named

What Pebl costs

WHERE THIS FEE SITS IN THE MARKET · published monthly EOR rates, per employee

Published rates on the scale: $199, $299, Pebl $399 headline, $459, $599, $699.

Published rates only. Pebl's $399 is a headline that requires a quote, and no South African figure is published. Several South African specialists publish nothing and quote after a call, and some charge a percentage of cost to company instead. The headline fee is rarely the whole cost.

Here is every cost line we could find for one Pebl hire in South Africa. The pricing page is headed "Start hiring in minutes with no hidden fees" and shows $399 a month per employee; the same block says "Get a clear quote", and the only button is "Get a quote". Reviewer estimates appear in the grey column, labelled as such; they are not Pebl's figures. We do not add these up.

Monthly EOR fee$399 per employee headline, quote required; no SA rateThird-party reviewers call $399 promotional or select-market, put the standard base at $599 to $660, and report a South African average of about $705. All unverified
DepositNot publishedThird-party reviewers report 10-30% of gross annual salary, refundable. Unverified
Setup / onboarding feeNot published. The FAQ asks the question; the answer is collapsedThird-party reviewers conflict: one reports no fee, another $500 to $2,000. Unverified
Offboarding / exit feeNot published. Same collapsed FAQThird-party reviewers report $500 to $1,000. Unverified
FX marginNot publishedThird-party reviewers report 3%
Add-onsBenefits, pensions, equity, immigration, talent sourcing. Prices not publishedTalent sourcing is "no cost unless you hire"
Minimum term / noticeNot published"Add or reduce headcount" stated. Reviewer-reported: a one-year commitment lowers the rate

THREE THINGS TO GET IN WRITING FROM PEBL

  • The South African rate at your salary level, and whether it assumes an annual commitment
  • Setup and offboarding fees and any deposit, since the site raises the question without answering it
  • The South African employing entity's name and registration number, owned or partner

How soon your person starts

IF YOU HAVE A CANDIDATE

As little as 24 hours

The homepage claim, "Hire anywhere in as little as 24 hours"; the EOR page says offer to onboarding takes minutes. It is a global figure: the South Africa page publishes no timeline and no slower override. It earns Pebl the 48-hour tick on this site, but "as little as" is conditional, so ask for the South African timeline in writing.

IF YOU NEED SOMEONE FOUND

Not offered

Pebl does not recruit; Global Talent Sourcing refers you to staffing agencies. Add your own search time, or a recruiter's, before onboarding. Providers that include recruitment publish 2-4 weeks brief-to-hire; you can compare them in the tool.

What is included

IN THE FEE

Stated as included

  • Legal employment without a local entity
  • Platform: hiring, onboarding, payroll, reporting, offboarding
  • Locally compliant offers and contracts
  • Baker McKenzie-vetted compliance guidance
  • Payroll in local currency, one invoice
  • Access to local benefits options
  • Alfie and AI-powered guidance
  • Integrations and API access
  • Expert support, onboarding to offboarding

CHARGED EXTRA

Priced separately

  • Global payroll for your own entities
  • Global Benefits
  • International Pensions
  • Global equity programme
  • Global immigration
  • Global Talent Sourcing (partner, pay on hire)
  • Pebl Embed

NOT PUBLISHED

Not on their site. Ask before you sign.

  • Office space or co-working: not offered
  • Laptops or equipment: not offered
  • Recruiters of its own
  • A South African rate
  • A named SA entity, office or team
  • A dedicated account manager
  • Who represents you at the CCMA
  • A named SA medical aid or provident fund

Working with Pebl

WHO YOU DEAL WITH

The homepage offers "Ask Pebl 24/7", an AI assistant backed by in-house experts; the pricing page includes expert support from onboarding through offboarding; the rebrand release promises "the same contacts, and the same support teams". Pebl's own site does not promise a dedicated account manager, and no South African hours or contact are published.

WHAT CUSTOMERS SAY

The homepage displays a 4.7 G2 rating; our September 2026 research pass recorded G2 at 4.6 out of 5 from 602 reviews. The pricing page's G2 link still points to the Velocity Global listing.

WHEN SOMETHING GOES WRONG

Pebl states that it manages terminations as part of the EOR service. There is no published position on who represents the employer at the CCMA, who bears the cost or who decides settlement. Pebl's own EOR page warns that local partner arrangements bring no clear accountability: exactly the question its South African record leaves open.

LEAVING

Minimum term, notice period and deposit terms are not published, and the setup-and-offboarding FAQ answer is collapsed. The site says you can add or reduce headcount flexibly. Read the exit clauses before you sign.

South African compliance

Pebl does not disclose whether it employs in South Africa through a Pebl-owned entity or a partner: it publishes 65 owned entities and says around 90% of employees are on them, with no country list. Its compliance guidance is vetted by Baker McKenzie, a specific and checkable assurance, and it creates locally compliant offers in minutes. The South Africa page references the BCEA 1997, sets out 21 consecutive days' annual leave, notes the tax year runs from 1 March to the end of February, and says the payroll cycle is agreed in the contract. None of UIF, SDL, COIDA, EMP201, EMP501 or IRP5 is named, and the CCMA is not mentioned.

How Pebl scores on the ten needs

These are the same ten needs the comparison tool on this site asks you to choose from, and these are Pebl's ticks in it. A tick means Pebl met the published-evidence bar for that need; a dash means it didn't.

  • Not met:Keeping costs down$399 is a headline beside "Get a quote" with no SA rate.
  • Met:Onboarding within 48 hoursHomepage: "Hire anywhere in as little as 24 hours"; EOR page: offer to onboarding in minutes. Global claim, no SA timeline.
  • Not met:Help finding candidatesGlobal Talent Sourcing is a referral to staffing agencies; no own recruiters, no time-to-hire.
  • Not met:HR support on the ground in SAThe SA page is a country guide; no SA office, team or HR contact is named.
  • Not met:SA labour law and CCMA coverSA entity not disclosed; the SA page names none of UIF, SDL, COIDA or the CCMA.
  • Not met:A dedicated account managerNot promised on the site. Support is "Ask Pebl 24/7" AI backed by in-house experts.
  • Not met:Managing employee benefitsGlobal Benefits and International Pensions are products, but no SA medical aid or provident fund is named.
  • Not met:Providing office space and equipmentNothing on the homepage, EOR page, pricing page or SA page.
  • Met:A self-service platform or appOne platform for hiring, payroll, reporting and offboarding; Alfie AI; integrations and API.
  • Met:Hiring in other countries tooEOR in 185+ countries.

Pick your own three priorities and see which providers match all of them.

Compare providers

Our overall impression

Where Pebl stands out

The scope is genuinely enterprise-grade. Alongside employment it sells international pensions, a global equity programme, global immigration and support for mergers, acquisitions and contractor conversion. If you are absorbing a team or unwinding an operation, that capability is worth real money.

The compliance positioning is more concrete than the usual claims: Baker McKenzie as the vetting firm is checkable, and the NelsonHall placement is an analyst view rather than a self-issued badge.

Where you should probe

For a South African buyer, almost everything that matters is absent: no rate, no named employing entity, no office, no staff, no case study, and a country page that covers the tax year alongside the climate. None of UIF, SDL, COIDA, EMP201, EMP501 or IRP5 appears.

Pebl's own EOR page warns that local partner arrangements bring no clear accountability and inconsistent service. Sound advice, and the exact question a South African buyer cannot answer about Pebl from anything published. Put it first in the sales call.

Pebl FAQs

Yes. Velocity Global rebranded to Pebl in September 2025; the footer still reads Pebl (Velocity Global, LLC) and the rebrand release gives Palo Alto as headquarters. The site is hellopebl.com; pebl.com is an unrelated firm.

No South African rate is published. The pricing page shows $399 per employee per month beside a request to get a quote, so treat it as an entry point and ask for your rate, and any setup, offboarding and deposit terms, in writing.

The homepage says as little as 24 hours; the EOR page says offer to onboarding takes minutes. Neither is South Africa-specific, so ask for the local figure.

Not disclosed. Pebl publishes 65 owned entities with no country list, and no South African company, office or staff is named. Ask for the entity name and registration number.

It states that it manages payroll and compliance and that its guidance is vetted by Baker McKenzie. Its South Africa page does not name UIF, SDL, COIDA, EMP201, EMP501 or IRP5, so confirm each, and who carries liability for a late filing.

Employer of Record SA is an independent comparison service. We are not an EOR and we employ nobody.

How we're funded. Some providers pay us a referral fee when you request a quote through this site. Fees never affect how a provider is assessed, where it appears, or whether it is listed at all. Read our full disclosure.

Everything above comes from Pebl's own published material, checked on the date at the top of this page. Where we could not find something, we say so rather than guess. Full detail on our methodology page.

Not sure this is the right fit?

Answer a few quick questions and see every provider that can employ in South Africa, matched against the priorities you choose.

Compare providers

General information, not legal, tax or financial advice. Provider details are accurate as at 8 September 2026 and change without notice. Verify pricing, entity ownership and terms directly with the provider before you sign anything.