TopSource Worldwide EOR Review
A London-headquartered, service-led global employment and payroll firm: 180-plus countries, a named account manager with quarterly reviews, 24/5 phone support and advisory from misclassification audits to setting up your own entity. It publishes its pricing model but no price, and does not say which entity employs your South African hire.
- EOR fee from
- Quote only
- Start date (SA page)
- Days to a week
- Finds candidates?
- Not in SA
- Named account manager?
- Yes
Pros
- Named account manager, client success manager, quarterly reviews, 24/5 phone
- A substantive SA page: BCEA, LRA, CCMA, Employment Equity Act, PAYE, UIF
- Advisory and entity setup, so you can outgrow EOR with the same supplier
Cons
- No published price for any country
- Employing entity not disclosed; no SA office or staff
- No CCMA representation stated; no equipment or workspace
Facts checked 8 September 20266 min read
Who TopSource suits
You already have your candidate. A good fit if you want a named human rather than a ticket queue: a dedicated account manager, a client success manager, quarterly reviews and 24/5 phone support, with contracts tailored rather than templated. Before you sign, get the employing entity's name and CIPC number and an EOR fee stated separately from any other service.
You need someone found. TopSource sells a separate talent acquisition service covering job descriptions, interview scheduling, background checks and offer negotiation. No South African recruiters, talent pool, fee or time-to-hire is published, so treat it as a quote item and ask for all four.
You already use an EOR in another country. Realistic: 180-plus countries, global payroll in 130-plus, contractor of record with conversion into employment, and entity setup when the headcount justifies leaving EOR. The question is whether its South African delivery, through an entity it does not name, is stronger than what you have.
Look elsewhere if you need a published price before a sales process, you require confirmed owned-entity employment in South Africa, documented CCMA representation is a firm requirement, you need laptops, equipment or workspace provided, or you want a self-service platform with fast automated onboarding.
At a glance
| Published EOR fee | Not published for any country. Model stated as a flat monthly fee per employee plus statutory employer costs |
|---|---|
| Upfront cost | "No entity setup costs" on the EOR page. Onboarding fee and deposit not published |
| Start date | A few days to a week once tax and UIF registration details are confirmed (SA page FAQ); 5-10 business days in established markets (EOR page) |
| Recruitment | Separate talent acquisition service. No SA recruiters, pool, fee or time-to-hire published |
| Support model | Named account manager with quarterly reviews, client success manager, 24/5 phone support, hands-on onboarding |
| Local entity | Not disclosed. The SA page says you can employ there without setting up an entity; it does not say whose. Offices: London, Pune, Sunnyvale, Bellevue, Seoul, Tokyo |
What TopSource costs
Published rates on the scale: $199, $299, $459, $599, $699.
Published rates only. TopSource publishes a clear pricing model (flat monthly fee per employee plus statutory employer costs, no entity setup costs, no long-term lock-in) and no number, for any country. The headline fee is rarely the whole cost.
Here is every cost line we could find for one TopSource hire in South Africa. Where a figure or term is published it is shown; where it isn't, the line says so. We do not add these up, because the fee itself is a quote.
| Monthly EOR fee | Not published, quote only | Third-party reviewers report proposals in the $580-$860 per month range; not a published figure |
|---|---|---|
| Deposit | Not published | Reviewers note payroll pre-funding or deposits "may apply in some jurisdictions"; ask |
| Setup / onboarding fee | Not published | "No entity setup costs" is stated; the site is silent on onboarding charges |
| Offboarding / exit fee | Not published | Termination administration charges not stated |
| FX margin | Not published | The cost calculator offers GBP, EUR, USD and INR, no rand; ask for the ZAR margin as a percentage |
| Talent acquisition, immigration, advisory, benefits | Priced separately, price not published | Ask for each component separately from the EOR fee |
| Minimum term / notice | Not published | "No long-term lock-in" is stated; headcount, term and notice are not |
THREE THINGS TO GET IN WRITING FROM TOPSOURCE
- Which entity will employ your staff member, its CIPC number, and whether TopSource owns it
- The EOR fee for a South African employee at your salary level, stated separately from talent acquisition, payroll or advisory
- Who represents you at the CCMA and at a disciplinary hearing, and who pays, naming the entity
How soon your person starts
IF YOU HAVE A CANDIDATE
A few days to a week
From the South Africa page FAQ, conditional on tax and UIF registration details being confirmed. The EOR page's global figure is 5-10 business days in established markets, and TopSource does not say whether South Africa counts as one. Confirm which applies; the candidate's notice period is usually the longer constraint.
IF YOU NEED SOMEONE FOUND
Not published
TopSource offers talent acquisition but publishes no time-to-hire and no South African recruiters. Add the search time it quotes you before the days above. Providers that include recruitment publish 2-4 weeks brief-to-hire; you can compare them in the tool.
What is included
IN THE FEE
Stated as included
- Legal employment in SA, entity not identified
- Tailored employment contracts
- Payroll, tax withholding and statutory filings
- Statutory benefits administration
- Hands-on employee onboarding
- Dedicated account manager, quarterly reviews, 24/5 phone
- Portico platform and API access
CHARGED EXTRA
Priced separately
- Talent acquisition
- Global mobility and immigration
- Contractor of Record
- Global payroll, entity setup and management
- Transactional accounting and BPO
- Advisory, including misclassification audits
NOT PUBLISHED
Not on their site. Ask before you sign.
- Office space, co-working or laptops: not offered
- A published price
- The identity of the SA employing entity
- Who represents you at the CCMA
- A named SA medical aid or provident fund
- An SA office, staff or case study
Working with TopSource
WHO YOU DEAL WITH
A named account manager who meets you quarterly, a client success manager, and 24/5 phone support with in-country and regional experts; the SA page promises a named manager "just a phone call away". No office is in South Africa. Ask whether your account manager can direct whoever delivers South African employment, or only relay to them.
WHAT CUSTOMERS SAY
A Gartner Peer Insights badge rated 5 out of 5 is displayed without a review count; G2 2.8 out of 5 from four reviews. Third-party review volume is thin. The site carries named client testimonials.
WHEN SOMETHING GOES WRONG
The South Africa page sets out LRA retrenchment and dispute procedures and names the CCMA, and TopSource says it handles notice periods and severance correctly. It does not say who represents the employer at the CCMA, who attends a disciplinary hearing, who pays or who decides settlement. If delivery runs through a third-party entity, the answer may be that entity rather than TopSource.
LEAVING
"No long-term lock-in" is stated on the EOR page; minimum headcount, term, notice and offboarding charges are not published, so confirm the claim survives into the signed agreement. Entity setup means TopSource can move you from EOR into your own South African entity rather than lose the account.
South African compliance
TopSource does not disclose which entity employs South African staff or whether it owns one; its South Africa page says only that you can employ there without setting up an entity. The page itself is substantive: BCEA leave, working hours and statutory notice periods, LRA retrenchment and dispute procedures, the CCMA, Employment Equity Act reporting, PAYE withholding and UIF contributions, and an FAQ stating that the EOR manages BCEA and UIF compliance and carries the liability. SDL, COIDA, EMP201, EMP501 and IRP5 are not addressed individually. Contracts are tailored on notice, probation, hours, confidentiality and IP. The CCMA is explained without a position on who represents the employer.
How TopSource scores on the ten needs
These are the same ten needs the comparison tool on this site asks you to choose from, and these are TopSource's ticks in it. A tick means TopSource met the published-evidence bar for that need; a dash means it didn't.
- Not met:Keeping costs downNo price is published for any country.
- Not met:Onboarding within 48 hours5-10 business days globally; "a few days to a week" on the SA page, conditional on tax and UIF registration.
- Not met:Help finding candidatesA talent acquisition service is published, but no South African recruiters, pool, fee or time-to-hire.
- Not met:HR support on the ground in SANo South African office, city or staff named; the six listed offices are all outside Africa.
- Not met:SA labour law and CCMA coverThe employing entity is not disclosed and no CCMA representation is stated, despite a thorough SA page.
- Met:A dedicated account manager"Your dedicated account manager will meet with you quarterly" on the EOR page; named account manager on the SA page; 24/5 phone.
- Not met:Managing employee benefitsMedical aid, provident fund and group risk cover are named as packages it supports, but no scheme or administration process is published.
- Not met:Providing office space and equipmentNo office, co-working, laptop or equipment provision on the EOR page, SA page or services list.
- Not met:A self-service platform or appPortico has client and employee logins and an API, but no self-service onboarding flow is published; delivery is service-led.
- Met:Hiring in other countries tooEOR in 180+ countries, global payroll in 130+, contractor of record alongside.
Pick your own three priorities and see which providers match all of them.
Compare providersOur overall impression
Where TopSource stands out
The support commitment is concrete: a named account manager, a client success manager, quarterly reviews and 24/5 phone access to people rather than a chatbot. For a first South African hire without internal HR capacity, that is a different proposition from a self-service dashboard.
The South Africa page is substantive, and the advisory range is more than window dressing: contractor misclassification audits address a live South African risk, and entity setup means TopSource can take you out of EOR and into your own entity when the headcount justifies it.
Where you should probe
No published price, for any country, is a real gap on a site this comprehensive. The model is explained clearly and the number is absent, so you cannot form a budget or compare against providers that publish.
The entity question is the second thing to weigh. TopSource does not say which entity employs South African staff or whether it owns one, and none of its six offices is in South Africa. Until the entity is named, you do not know who the employer will be.
Third, the CCMA gap is more noticeable here because the SA page explains the procedures competently and then does not say who handles them.
TopSource FAQs
Not disclosed. Its South Africa page says you can employ there without setting up an entity but not whether TopSource holds its own South African entity or works through a partner. Ask which entity will employ your staff member and verify it at CIPC.
No price is published. The EOR page states the model as a flat monthly fee per employee plus statutory employer costs, with no entity setup costs and no long-term lock-in. The cost calculator returns statutory costs, not the TopSource fee, and offers no rand. Request a written quote.
Its EOR page says onboarding typically completes in five to ten business days in established markets; its South Africa page FAQ says a few days to a week once tax and UIF registration details are confirmed. Confirm which applies to your hire.
It offers a separate talent acquisition service covering job descriptions, interview scheduling, background checks and offer negotiation. No South African recruiters, talent pool, fee or time-to-hire is published, which is why the comparison tool does not credit it with recruitment.
The South Africa page sets out LRA retrenchment and dispute procedures and names the CCMA. It does not publish who represents you at the CCMA or a disciplinary hearing, or who pays, so get that in writing naming the entity that does it.
Employer of Record SA is an independent comparison service. We are not an EOR and we employ nobody.
How we're funded. Some providers pay us a referral fee when you request a quote through this site. Fees never affect how a provider is assessed, where it appears, or whether it is listed at all. Read our full disclosure.
Everything above comes from TopSource's own published material, checked on the date at the top of this page. Where we could not find something, we say so rather than guess. Full detail on our methodology page.
Not sure this is the right fit?
Answer a few quick questions and see every provider that can employ in South Africa, matched against the priorities you choose.
General information, not legal, tax or financial advice. Provider details are accurate as at 8 September 2026 and change without notice. Verify pricing, entity ownership and terms directly with the provider before you sign anything.
