Playroll EOR Review
A global employment platform with South African roots: its own entity, offices in Cape Town and Johannesburg, a published $399 fee and country paperwork written by people who have run payroll here. You bring the candidate, and you fund a month's salary up front.
- EOR fee from
- $399/mo
- Start date (SA page)
- 10-15 days
- Finds candidates?
- No
- Named account manager?
- Yes
Pros
- Real South African footing: own entity, two SA offices
- Statutory detail down to the form (EMP201, UI-19, IRP5)
- $399, invoiced in rand, no setup or exit fee
Cons
- A month's salary held on deposit per hire
- Plan on 10-15 business days, not the "2-5 days" headline
- You bring the candidate; no office space
Facts checked 8 September 20266 min read
Who Playroll suits
You already have your candidate. This is Playroll's sweet spot. You get an owned South African employer, a named Customer Success Manager and Employee Success Manager from day one, and a published fee with no setup or exit charge. Budget for the deposit and plan the start date from the South Africa page, not the pricing page.
You need someone found. Look elsewhere, or pair Playroll with a recruiter. Playroll's own talent page confirms clients source their own candidates; there is no sourcing, screening or placement service.
You already use an EOR in another country. Playroll covers 180+ countries and publishes an EOR-migration path, so consolidating onto it is realistic. The honest question is how your current provider's South African delivery compares with an owned entity and two local offices.
Look elsewhere if a month's salary per hire on deposit does not suit your cash flow, you need office space or co-working provided, you want a written commitment to onboarding inside 48 hours, or you need documented CCMA representation before you sign.
At a glance
| Published EOR fee | From $399 per employee per month, monthly billing, no minimum headcount, rand invoicing available |
|---|---|
| Upfront cost | Refundable deposit equal to one month's salary per employee. No setup, onboarding or offboarding fees |
| Start date | 10-15 business days from service agreement on the South Africa page; global pages say 2-5 days; hiring guide says a 1-2 day minimum subject to right-to-work checks and a payroll cut-off on the 10th |
| Recruitment | Not offered. Clients source their own candidates |
| Support model | Customer Success Manager and Employee Success Manager included at base tier. Email, WhatsApp, phone, Teams, video. 24×5 |
| Local entity | Owned South African entity (stated on Playroll's SA blog), offices in Cape Town and Johannesburg. Registration number not published |
What Playroll costs
Published rates on the scale: $199, $299, Playroll $399, $459, $599, $699.
Published rates only. Several South African specialists publish nothing and quote after a call, and some charge a percentage of cost to company instead. The headline fee is rarely the whole cost.
Here is every cost line we could find for one Playroll hire in South Africa. Where Playroll publishes a figure it is shown; where it doesn't, the line says so rather than guessing. We do not add these up, because two of them depend on your salary and your quote.
| Monthly EOR fee | From $399 per employee | Volume pricing not published |
|---|---|---|
| Deposit | One month's salary, refundable | Return conditions and timing not published |
| Setup / onboarding fee | None | Stated on the pricing page |
| Offboarding / exit fee | None | Stated on the pricing page |
| FX margin | Avoidable, as rand invoicing is available | Margin on USD/GBP invoicing not published |
| Benefits, equipment, visas | Paid add-ons, price not published | Ask for the South African schedule |
| Minimum term / notice | Monthly, no minimum commitment | Notice period not published |
THREE THINGS TO GET IN WRITING FROM PLAYROLL
- The deposit's return conditions and timing on exit
- Which onboarding timeline applies to your hire, and the payroll cut-off date
- Which medical aid scheme and provident fund your employee would join, and the fringe-benefit tax treatment
How soon your person starts
IF YOU HAVE A CANDIDATE
10-15 business days
From signed service agreement to first day, per Playroll's South Africa EOR page: contract, government registrations, payroll setup. The global "2-5 days" and the hiring guide's "1-2 working days" are conditional on documents, right-to-work checks and the payroll cut-off on the 10th. Plan on the South African figure.
IF YOU NEED SOMEONE FOUND
Not offered
Playroll does not recruit. Add your own search time, or a recruiter's, before the 10-15 days above. Providers that include recruitment publish 2-4 weeks brief-to-hire; you can compare them in the tool.
What is included
IN THE FEE
Stated as included
- Employment via its own SA entity
- Legally reviewed local contracts
- Payroll, tax and statutory filings
- Onboarding and offboarding
- CSM and Employee Success Manager
- IP and invention rights protection
- Misclassification assessments
- UI-19 and final pay on termination
CHARGED EXTRA
Priced separately
- Premium employee benefits
- Visa and immigration services
- Equipment
- Global payroll services
- Payroll analytics
NOT PUBLISHED
Not on their site. Ask before you sign.
- Recruitment or candidate sourcing: not offered
- Office space or co-working: not offered
- A named medical aid scheme
- Who represents you at the CCMA
- A South African case study
Working with Playroll
WHO YOU DEAL WITH
A Customer Success Manager for you and an Employee Success Manager for your hire, both included at base tier. Channels: email, WhatsApp, phone, Teams, call-back and video. Playroll does not state whether your account is served from a South African office or in South African hours. Ask.
WHAT CUSTOMERS SAY
G2 4.7 out of 5 from 245 reviews, checked 7 September 2026. Reviewers single out the named success managers and onboarding help.
WHEN SOMETHING GOES WRONG
Termination support covers the consultation process, final pay and the UI-19 form. Playroll names the CCMA on its South Africa page and publishes process guidance, but not who represents you at a hearing, who attends or who pays. Get that in writing before you need it.
LEAVING
Monthly billing, no minimum commitment and no offboarding fee. The deposit is refundable; its return conditions and the notice period are not published. Playroll publishes an EOR-migration path in, so ask what the path out looks like.
South African compliance
Playroll employs through its own South African entity and its South Africa page is specific about the paperwork: PAYE via EMP201, UIF at 1% each side against the earnings ceiling, SDL at 1%, COIDA registration within seven days, IRP5 certificates and the IT3(a) reconciliation at February year-end, and the national minimum wage with its effective date. EMP501 is not named, the entity's registration number is not published, and the CCMA is named without a stated position on who represents the employer.
How Playroll scores on the ten needs
These are the same ten needs the comparison tool on this site asks you to choose from, and these are Playroll's ticks in it. A tick means Playroll met the published-evidence bar for that need; a dash means it didn't.
- Not met:Keeping costs down$399 is mid-market.
- Not met:Onboarding within 48 hoursThe South Africa page states 10-15 business days; the faster global claims are conditional.
- Not met:Help finding candidatesNot offered. Clients source their own candidates.
- Met:HR support on the ground in SAOffices in Cape Town and Johannesburg; an Employee Success Manager for every hire.
- Met:SA labour law and CCMA coverOwn South African entity; BCEA, LRA and CCMA process covered on the SA page. Representation at hearings not stated.
- Met:A dedicated account managerNamed Customer Success Manager at base tier, reachable by phone and WhatsApp.
- Met:Managing employee benefitsMedical aid enrolment with fringe-benefit tax treatment, provident and retirement contributions. No scheme named.
- Not met:Providing office space and equipmentEquipment as a paid add-on only; no office space or co-working.
- Met:A self-service platform or appFull client dashboard and employee portal; G2-reviewed.
- Met:Hiring in other countries tooEOR in 180+ countries.
Pick your own three priorities and see which providers match all of them.
Compare providersOur overall impression
Where Playroll stands out
It has an owned South African entity, two South African offices and country documentation written to the level of the actual paperwork. Naming COIDA's seven-day window, the UIF ceiling, medical-aid fringe-benefit tax and the UI-19 form is what someone writes when they have done the process.
The commercial terms back it up: mid-market pricing, no onboarding or offboarding fees, no minimum, rand invoicing, and a named person for you and for your employee from the first hire.
Where you should probe
The deposit first. One month's salary per employee is real working capital at ten hires.
The start date second. Playroll's global pages say two to five days and its South Africa page says ten to fifteen business days. The local figure is almost certainly the honest one, and to Playroll's credit it published it, but a buyer planning from the pricing page will be two weeks out.
Recruitment and workspace are absent, and CCMA representation is the question left standing.
Playroll FAQs
From $399 per employee per month, billed monthly with no minimum, no setup fee and no offboarding fee, and you can be invoiced in rand. Budget separately for a refundable deposit equal to one month's salary per employee.
Playroll's South Africa page sets out ten to fifteen business days from service agreement to start. Its global pages say two to five days and its hiring guide a one-to-two-day minimum, both conditional on documents, right-to-work checks and the payroll cut-off on the 10th. Plan on the South African figure.
No. Playroll's talent page confirms clients source their own candidates. If you need someone found, use a recruiter alongside Playroll or choose a provider that includes recruitment.
Yes, according to its South Africa blog, with offices in Cape Town and Johannesburg. The registered name and CIPC number are not published, so ask for both.
Playroll handles the consultation process, final pay and the UI-19 form, and names the CCMA on its South Africa page. It does not publish who represents you at a CCMA hearing or who pays, so get that in writing.
Employer of Record SA is an independent comparison service. We are not an EOR and we employ nobody.
How we're funded. Some providers pay us a referral fee when you request a quote through this site. Fees never affect how a provider is assessed, where it appears, or whether it is listed at all. Read our full disclosure.
Everything above comes from Playroll's own published material, checked on the date at the top of this page. Where we could not find something, we say so rather than guess. Full detail on our methodology page.
Not sure this is the right fit?
Answer a few quick questions and see every provider that can employ in South Africa, matched against the priorities you choose.
General information, not legal, tax or financial advice. Provider details are accurate as at 8 September 2026 and change without notice. Verify pricing, entity ownership and terms directly with the provider before you sign anything.
