Remote alternatives for South Africa

Remote answers two questions at country level that most global platforms leave open: it names its South African employing entity with a registration number, and it quantifies its liability cover. Both are reasons to stay. The reasons people leave are the price, a provident fund contribution they did not choose, and the fact that benefits cannot be varied between employees.

BEFORE YOU LOOK AT ALTERNATIVES

What are you actually replacing?

Moving an EOR changes your employee’s legal employer, which usually means ending one employment relationship and starting another. Three numbers are worth having in front of you before you start.

$838a month
Remote at $699 plus its mandatory 5% employer provident fund, on a R500,000 base salary at roughly R18 to the dollar
3things
Remote publishes that you would need to check you can live without: unlimited indemnity, named Discovery plan tiers with rand limits, and the integration set
2conversations
The provident fund and the medical aid are changes to your employee’s package, not administrative transfers

If you need breadth, an owned entity you can name, and quantified liability cover from one supplier, replacing Remote means giving up at least one of them. That is a real cost and it does not appear on any rate card.

THE CLOSEST DIRECT SWAP

Playroll

The alternative that changes least: an owned South African entity, two South African offices, and the same shape of service at a lower published rate. Cheaper every month, and more expensive in month one.

Monthly fee
$699from $399
Mandated contribution
5% of base salarynone
Deposit
Exceptional cases onlyone month’s salary

Playroll not the answer? See every South African provider matched against your own priorities, in about ninety seconds.

Facts checked 10 September 202610 min read

What Remote does well

Remote answers two questions at country level that most global platforms leave open.

It answers the entity question at country level

Its South Africa page states that it owns its own legal entity in the country, employs in-house rather than through third parties, and provides all EOR services, including local specialist support, internally. Its Local Terms name that entity, with registration number 2020/263679/07. Most global platforms make an owned-entity claim globally and decline to confirm any single country. Remote confirms it.

Its protections are quantified

It publishes liability cover described as unlimited indemnity for EOR customers with no stated caps, alongside a dedicated intellectual property protection product, SOC 2 Type 2 and ISO 27001.

Beyond that: named Discovery medical aid plan tiers with day-to-day limits published in rand, from R8,688 to R27,876; a Workday-certified integration plus native connections to HiBob, BambooHR and Personio, an API and an MCP server; and pricing published on the South Africa page itself, at $699 with a twelve-currency selector, rather than left on a global page. Its UK page prices the same product at £559.

Other HR platforms run their own global employment products on Remote's infrastructure: BambooHR's Employer of Record product is powered by Remote.

Why people look for an alternative

Four reasons.

The price

$699 per employee per month sits at the top of the published range. Several providers with an owned South African entity charge materially less.

The provident fund is not optional

Remote applies a mandatory employer contribution of 5% of base salary to a provident fund for all South African employees, fixed with no flexibility, and employees cannot opt out. It also applies a matching mandatory 5% employee contribution, which comes out of their pay. Retirement contributions are not a legal requirement for South African employers, so both are Remote's policy rather than statutory costs. On a R500,000 base salary the employer side adds R25,000 a year on top of the fee, and the employee sees the same amount deducted.

The employer contribution goes to your employee, not to Remote, and it improves the offer they are comparing against a local job. If you intended to fund retirement anyway, it costs you nothing you had not budgeted. If you did not, you have been enrolled in a benefits policy you did not choose.

Benefits cannot be varied

Remote states that any benefit offered applies to all team members in the country. That is defensible as fairness, and it removes your ability to structure packages differently across seniority levels.

There is no recruitment

Remote publishes Remote Recruit, a self-serve job board and matching marketplace. It employs no recruiters and does no screening or shortlisting on your behalf, so the sourcing effort stays with you.

Three smaller points. EOR coverage is 90-plus countries, which is narrower than several competitors. COIDA is absent from its South African payroll breakdown. And its equity administration product, Remote Equity Advanced, requires a parent company incorporated in Delaware and privately held, which rules out most UK and European buyers.

If you want an owned South African entity for less

Playroll

What you gain
Owned South African entity stated, offices in Cape Town and Johannesburg, no mandated benefit contribution
What you give up
No registration number published, and liability cover is not quantified
Published rate
From $399, plus a month’s salary deposit

Playroll is the closest direct swap. It states in its own South Africa blog, though not on its South Africa EOR page, that it operates through its own South African entity, and it publishes offices in Cape Town and Johannesburg alongside a London head office. It publishes no registration number, so ask. Its rate starts at $399 per employee per month with zero onboarding and offboarding fees, no minimum commitment and rand invoicing available.

Its South African documentation sets the statutory detail out in the most operational form we have seen, naming PAYE remittance via EMP201, the UIF contribution ceiling, SDL at 1%, COIDA registration within seven days of employing staff, the current minimum wage with its effective date, and the UI-19 form required on termination. Its South Africa blog states that it handles medical aid enrolment, including fringe benefit tax treatment, and its pricing page includes both a Customer Success Manager and an Employee Success Manager at the base tier.

It mandates no benefit contribution. It does hold a refundable deposit equivalent to one month's salary per employee, so model the cash flow.

G-P

What you gain
An entity you can verify on the CIPC register, and 180-plus countries
What you give up
No South African staff or office published, and G-P does not name the entity itself
Published rate
From $599

G-P offers a different kind of certainty. A Globalization Partners South Africa (Pty) Ltd is on the CIPC register under number K2017369628, incorporated in 2017, which you can verify yourself in minutes rather than taking on trust, though G-P does not name it on its own pages. It publishes a starting rate of $599 described as the same across all 180-plus countries, and states no minimum contract length; setup, deposit and FX margin are unpublished. Its registered address is a service address in Umhlanga, north of Durban, and no South African staff or office are published.

Two providers here publish an owned South African entity. Filter for compliance in the comparison tool to see every provider that employs through its own entity.

If you want workspace, equipment and recruitment in one contract

These providers solve a different problem from Remote rather than offering a cheaper version of the same one. What they sell is more of the practical work of putting one person to work in one country.

Legends EOR

What you gain
Employment plus workspace, IT support, equipment, contractor management and EOR migration
What you give up
No pricing of any kind, no platform, API or HRIS, no immigration, South Africa only
Published rate
Not published

Legends EOR publishes service lines running from human resources, payroll and employee benefits through company culture, contractor management, EOR migration and onboarding and offboarding, to office space, IT support and IT equipment. Recruitment is described inside its hiring process rather than sold as a separate line: a role brief and salary benchmarking, then sourcing, screening and initial assessment, with the client conducting only the final interview. DNA EOR publishes the same shape from Pretoria and Cape Town at $125 to $275, and Omniado EOR publishes workspace, laptops and recruitment at a flat $299.

For a company building a South African team from nothing, that combination answers questions Remote does not touch. Remote will employ whoever you find. It will not provide a desk, and it publishes no equipment service.

Legends publishes a South African company registration number, a UK company registration number, a Cape Town head office and telephone numbers in two countries. The UK company was incorporated in January 2024 and its Companies House registered office is in Norwich rather than the London address shown on the site, and the site does not state which entity signs the client contract, so ask.

What you give up is real. Legends publishes no pricing of any kind, no self-service platform, API or HRIS, no immigration service and no coverage outside South Africa. It does publish a support and dispute position: a named HR contact based in its South African office and available every working day, and a statement that it manages grievances, disciplinary matters and CCMA disputes as the legal employer, coordinating legal representation where a dispute escalates. Against Remote's quantified indemnity and certification set, that is a trade rather than a straight upgrade.

A handful of providers named here, forty-two in the comparison tool. See the full list against your own priorities.

If you want to choose your own benefits policy

Named in this sectionAfrica HR Solutions, Deel, Multiplier, Playroll, Remote

None of the alternatives on this page publishes a mandated employer benefit contribution, which means the decision on retirement provision stays with you.

Africa HR Solutions takes the opposite approach to Remote and gives benefits away rather than requiring them. It includes life cover from day one at no cost to you, with premiums paid by Africa HR and no medical questionnaire required for employees aged 18 to 64; the sum assured is not published, so ask what the cover is worth. It also offers a health plan with guaranteed acceptance, no medical underwriting and medical histories disregarded, with day-one cancer coverage and annual limits it states as exceeding $5 million. For an employee with a pre-existing condition facing waiting periods on a South African scheme, that is worth real money. It publishes office leasing, laptop provision, car rental, housing and relocation support, and a dedicated key account manager, with an FAQ promising consultants and client leads rather than a chatbot or a call centre. It is headquartered in Mauritius, 51% owned by the JSE-listed South African group ADvTECH Resourcing, and publishes no South African office or South Africa-based staff. Its South African statutory documentation names no local obligation at all, so ask direct questions on payroll compliance.

Deel and Multiplier both publish benefits as selectable add-ons rather than requirements, and Playroll offers premium benefits as a paid option you choose.

If cost is the main reason

Named in this sectionDNA EOR, EMPLOI EOR, ExpandTo South Africa, Key EOR South Africa, Omniado EOR, RemoFirst

DNA EOR publishes a fixed fee from $125 to $275 per employee per month, varying by headcount, industry and how involved it is in day-to-day HR. It is a South African business founded in 2018 by former payroll operators, quotes in sterling, dollars, euros or rand, and publishes a VAT position stating that EOR services often qualify as exported services and are therefore exempt from South Africa's 15% VAT, which is worth confirming in writing for your own arrangement. Its homepage starts at $175 and its pricing page at $125, and it states a deposit is required without publishing the amount.

RemoFirst publishes from $199, noting that the rate may vary by country, with no setup, onboarding or termination fees, no annual contracts and no minimum headcount, and gives every customer a dedicated account manager. It works through local partners and publishes its reasoning openly, though it does not state its South African position either way.

Omniado EOR publishes a flat $299 alongside its own South African registration number, and ExpandTo South Africa publishes $399, or £299 in sterling, for employment only. For lower-paid roles, percentage pricing can beat a flat fee without doing so automatically: EMPLOI EOR publishes 10% of gross salary, which undercuts a $299 flat fee below roughly $2,990 a month and describes itself as built for US companies, and Key EOR South Africa quotes a percentage of total cost to company without publishing the percentage.

If you need recruitment

Named in this sectionCA Global HR, DNA EOR, Deel, G-P, Key EOR South Africa, Legends EOR, Multiplier, Omniado EOR, Pebl, RemoFirst, Talent Collectiv, TopSource Worldwide, West Coast Personnel

Key EOR South Africa, Legends EOR and West Coast Personnel publish recruiters of their own. CA Global HR, DNA EOR, Talent Collectiv and Omniado EOR publish a recruitment service without naming recruiters. TopSource Worldwide runs a separate talent acquisition service described as using in-country recruiters, covering job descriptions, interview scheduling, background checks and offer negotiation, without saying whether they are employees or partners. Deel prices its own sourcing and hiring module at $14 per worker per month, with candidates coming from its marketplace or partner agencies. Multiplier, G-P, Pebl and RemoFirst refer you to third-party agencies.

If you need more countries

Named in this sectionDeel, G-P, Multiplier, Playroll, RemoFirst, Remote

Remote's 90-plus for EOR is on the narrow side. G-P publishes 180-plus, Playroll 180-plus, Deel 150-plus on most pages and 130-plus on its pricing page, Multiplier 150-plus in some places and 160-plus in others, and RemoFirst 185-plus on its EOR page and 180-plus in its FAQ.

If you need equity administration

Remote's constraint here is specific: Equity Advanced requires a Delaware-incorporated, privately held parent. Pebl, formerly Velocity Global, publishes a global equity programme alongside international pensions, both as separate paid products. It publishes no parent-jurisdiction condition either way, so ask. Most other providers publish nothing on equity, so raise it early rather than assuming.

Where Remote is hard to replace

The indemnityRemote publishes liability cover described as unlimited indemnity with no caps and no stated disclaimers. No alternative on this page publishes an equivalent. Ask any of them what their cover includes and excludes.
Named benefit plansPublishing Discovery plan tiers with day-to-day limits lets you tell a candidate exactly what they are joining. Most providers describe benefits in the abstract, and several name no South African scheme at all.
The integration positionA Workday-certified integration, native links to major HR systems, an API and an MCP server, plus other platforms running their own employment products on the same infrastructure.
CertificationSOC 2 Type 2 and ISO 27001, matched among these alternatives only by Multiplier and RemoFirst.

Before you switch

Moving an EOR changes your employee's legal employer, which usually means ending one employment relationship and starting another, with continuity of service, accrued leave and benefits needing careful handling. Legends EOR and Playroll both publish a migration service for this. G-P publishes guidance on switching rather than a named service.

Three things to settle first.

  1. The provident fundYour employee has been accruing a 5% employer contribution. If your new provider does not offer one, you are cutting their package unless you replicate it. That is an employment change, not an administrative one, and it needs consent and a conversation.
  2. Their medical aidIf they are on a named Discovery plan through Remote, establish what the incoming provider offers before you move them, not after. If you would rather start from the shortlist, our comparison tool matches every South African provider against the three things you care about most, in about ninety seconds.
  3. Notice and depositsRemote does not publish a notice period. It does publish a deposit position: reserve payments only in exceptional, high-risk situations. Several alternatives take one as standard, including Playroll at a refundable month's salary. Check your order form, and model the cash flow of running both providers for a month.

If you would rather start from the shortlist, our comparison tool matches every South African provider against the three things you care about most, in about ninety seconds.

Compare providers

Questions to ask any alternative

  1. Which registered entity will employ my staff member, and what is its CIPC number?
  2. What is my total monthly cost, including every fee and any mandated contribution?
  3. Is there a deposit, how much, and when is it returned?
  4. Do you require any employer benefit contribution, and can I vary benefits between employees?
  5. Which medical aid scheme and retirement fund can my employee join, and at what cost?
  6. What liability cover do you provide, and what does it exclude?
  7. Who represents me at the CCMA, who attends, who pays, and who decides settlement?

How we researched this

Employer of Record SA is an independent comparison service. We are not an EOR; we employ nobody, and no provider can pay for a position, a badge or a mention.

How we’re funded. Some providers pay us a referral fee when you request a quote through this site. Fees never affect how a provider is assessed, where it appears, or whether it is listed at all. Read our full disclosure.

Everything above comes from each provider's own published material, checked on the date at the top of this page. Where the published record is silent, we say so rather than guessing, and silence is not evidence that something does not exist. Full detail on our methodology page.

This is general information, not legal, tax or financial advice.

FAQs

Its published rate is $699, at the top of the market, and it adds a mandatory 5% employer provident fund contribution that no alternative on this page requires. On a R500,000 base salary at roughly R18 to the dollar, the combined figure is about $838 a month.

No. Remote states the employer contribution is fixed at 5% with no flexibility and that employees cannot opt out.

Legends EOR publishes both its South African and UK registration numbers, and Omniado EOR publishes its South African number in its terms of service. A Globalization Partners South Africa company is on the CIPC register, though G-P does not name it. Playroll states it owns an entity in its own blog and publishes two South African offices, without publishing a number.

Among the South African specialists, Legends EOR, DNA EOR and Omniado EOR all publish employment alongside workspace, equipment and recruitment in one contract. Legends publishes the longest list and no pricing; DNA publishes $125 to $275 and Omniado a flat $299. All three cover only South Africa.

DNA EOR from $125, RemoFirst from $199, Omniado at $299, ExpandTo at $399, Playroll from $399, Multiplier from $459 and Deel and G-P from $599. Several take a refundable deposit on top, so ask for the month-one figure as well.

Not among the alternatives on this page. Ask each one what liability cover it provides and what it excludes, and get the answer in writing.

Their contributions stop unless the incoming provider offers an equivalent. Treat that as a change to their package requiring a conversation, not a back-office transfer.

Not sure this is the right fit?

Answer a few quick questions and see every provider that can employ in South Africa, matched against the priorities you choose.

Compare providers

General information, not legal, tax or financial advice.

See every provider matched to your prioritiesCompare providers